Premed 101 Forums

GPA requirement.

schnauzr

My GPA is around 3.8, and I'm in my third year now, and though I'll be applying to both Canadian and American med schools, I'm trying to decide where I have a better shot of getting in.

So from my understanding, Canadian med schools require 3.9+ to get in, while American med schools are okay if you have 3.7+? The average GPA for UofT 2007 was 3.9. I mean, what is that. *sigh*

So my question is in American med schools, they don't really give TOO much attention to whether you have 4.0 or 3.8 as long as it's above a certain level. They would give more points to 4.0 than, but it's not imperative as in the Canadian system. Do you guys agree?

Like in Canada, schools don't seem to care too much about high MCAT marks as long as it's above 30.

And do you guys have any tips for getting LOR's? I'm going to ask my past research supervisor for one, but that's basically it. My plan was to get to know more profs in my courses, but it just never materialized. I just never needed to talk to any profs for understanding the materials. But, aye, that's an excuse. Anyway, my third year is over halfway, and if I don't get to know any profs, I'll end up in some deep ****. I don't have any "personal" figure to get it from either. My volunteering has been so here, there, and everywhere that I haven't formed any relationship with nobody. One good thing is that all American med schools seem to require letters from science faculty almost exclusively (not that you can't send other ones), so I could get some LOR by the end of this semester.

Do you guys think it's important to include some personal ones? That if you don't include a personal LOR, the percentage of obtaining post-sec. application becomes siginificantly lower?

- Most schools do not screen pre-secondary

- It might feel early, but start doing your research now.