Premed 101 Forums

Athabasca Chem 301

I did it and found the subject matter extensive but the assignments and final exam were not difficult. I was panicked going into the exam because I felt that I had not absorbed enough of the information but found that I was fine.

That said, I studied pretty extensively. I found every question and topic that the course pack expected you to know (it is in the front of each section) and, in a word document, answered all of them. It was the best way that I could figure out to study.

So, you have to be on the ball but the exams are, at least I found, fair.

I took it last spring & I agree with ouchitburns. There's alot to learn, but the exams were fair. I didn't study that much (well, it's all relative, but let's say I really didn't feel ready for the exam) & I was missing 2 pre-reqs and ended up doing ok regardless :) I thought it was super convenient doing it in a distance-ed way and booking the exam whenever I wanted.

Jochi - when do you plan to have it finished?

For everyone else who said they took it, how long did you take? I have applied to the U of S for admission in 2008. I would have to have completed the course by April 30, 2008 to be eligible for admissions. I would sign up right away and so would have roughly 15 weeks to complete it. Would that be enough time? I emailed the professor (Professor Alexandra Venter) but haven't heard back yet.

Jochi - when do you plan to have it finished?

For everyone else who said they took it, how long did you take? I have applied to the U of S for admission in 2008. I would have to have completed the course by April 30, 2008 to be eligible for admissions. I would sign up right away and so would have roughly 15 weeks to complete it. Would that be enough time? I emailed the professor (Professor Alexandra Venter) but haven't heard back yet.