Premed 101 Forums

Distance Education

Interested in applying to UofC, UBC, Ottawa and Queens.

My first undergraduate degree has a cumulative gpa of 3.05 and it's in Mechanical Engineering. I've been working for over 5 years as a Mech.Eng in Calgary. Is it better for me to do a masters and apply to med schools or better off doing another Bachelors to improve my gpa.

Also, do any of the above mentioned schools accept distance education through Athabasca U or better off doing traditional UofC.

Thank you

Interested in applying to UofC, UBC, Ottawa and Queens.

My first undergraduate degree has a cumulative gpa of 3.05 and it's in Mechanical Engineering. I've been working for over 5 years as a Mech.Eng in Calgary. Is it better for me to do a masters and apply to med schools or better off doing another Bachelors to improve my gpa.

Personally, I believe that a second undergraduate degree does more to improve your chances than a Masters degree, if your previous GPA is lower. If you have two good years of full time studies, then a number of options open up. On the other hand, having a Masters degree does open some options, but usually more subjective ones.

Ottawa uses a weighted GPA that emphasizes your last three years. Queen's looks at either your overall GPA or your most recent two years of full time study. Western and Dalhousie are other schools that look at just two years worth of courses. (I'm not sure the specifics of U of C IP or UBC, as I didn't apply there.)

Also, do any of the above mentioned schools accept distance education through Athabasca U or better off doing traditional UofC.

Athabasca is a fully accredited Canadian university. As such, it's courses and programs will be accepted by Canadian medical schools. That said, some of the universities require that your courses be part of a degree, rather than just random courses. As well, Western requires that your courses be part of an honour degree. Many of Athabasca's degrees are general degrees.