Premed 101 Forums

frustrated with pre-reqs - any advice?

I'm starting the process of applying to medical school. I graduated in 2000, did not take any science courses in university and am now trying to catch up. I thought that I could take the courses that I need through Athabsca, but now I'm realizing that this won't be feasible. They don't offer any supervised labs in March, which is the only time that I'm available to fly to Alberta. I could take the labs in the summer (either at Athabasca or at McMaster), but I won't be ready for all of them this summer, and next summer will be too late for a 2009 entry. I would like to apply to McMaster and Ottawa U this year. If I don't get in, then I'll write the MCAT in Summer 2009 and apply to all Ontario universities for 2010 entry.

I'm just feeling a bit frustrated because I think that my odds of getting into Ottawa U are much better than my odds of getting into McMaster (first language is French, c/wGPA of only 3.73). I know that if I do well on the MCAT, I'll have a better chance next year (UofT GPA is 3.88, UWO GPA is 3.86), but I'd REALLY like to have a chance for 2009.

Here are my questions:

Has anyone completed the pre-reqs for Ottawa U through distance ed (aside from Athabsca)? I'd be very happy with any Ontario university that offers distance courses with in-person labs. Labs in Ontario would be MUCH easier for me to get to than in Alberta.