Premed 101 Forums

My Chances.. Advice welcomed!

kgupta6

I am a third year student at UWO planning to apply this summer to U.S. allopathic schools. I have a 34R and a 3.60 cumulative GPA (based on AMCAS conversion). Many of the schools I have browsed advertise between 3.5-3.7 average GPAs as being that of the previous matriculated classes. Do I stand a chance at any of the schools?? Which ones should I apply to? My assumption is Ivy League schools are out, but what about SUNY Upstate, Rosalind, Wayne State, etc etc. (the ones mentioned in the "U.S. Schools to Apply to Thread").

Thanksss!!

Schools I want to apply to:

SUNY Upstate

Rosalind Franklin

University of Conneticut

Wayne State University

Indiana University

Keck School of Medicine

Yale University School of Medicine

Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons

UCLA

UCDavis

Case Western

University of Chicago: Pritzker

University of Texas

Boston University

Saint Louis University

Mayo Medical School

John Hopkins

Which ones are realistic for me, and which other ones should I consider?? Realllyyyy, interested in matriculating in a California school --- any suggestions??

hmmm as far as i know, stay away from the "UC" schools (UCLA, UC Davis etc.). They are notoriously tough to get into even if you're an out-of-state american...even tougher for canadians. if you want to go to a california school, i say apply to a private school.

suny upstate, rosalind franklin, wayne state all sound like good choices. i'd recommend applying early..as i'm sure you've read in many threads already.

Lots of top tier schools. Be prepared to justify why you should be accepted at places like Columbia P&S/Yale/JHop over the competition. These places I guarantee you will receive stacks and stacks of applications from people with 3.9/36+.

Mayo - I'm sure you're aware of the intensely small class size and the competition for those spots (because of very cheap tuition).