Premed 101 Forums

Australian Medical Schools Accepting HS Students

Guest Spencer

Guest Spencer

Just being curious, for all you Aussie med students and/or pre-med students or any knowledgeable Canadian students who've been through the Australian application process...Which Universities or should I say Schools of Medicine in Australia accept Canadian Gr.12 High School Students into their international applicant pool for their MBBS programs? As far as I know, University of Tasmania and University of Melbourne do, but I don't know about the rest...thx!

• 2 weeks later...
Guest redshifteffect

Hey I'm a highschool student, though I did OAC cause I'm in Ontario.

I'm in Uni of Tas right now and I'm absolutely enjoying it.

Word of advice though, I was pretty dumb in the sense that I found out a lot more stuff after I'd come that I regretted not looking into. First of all if you do a college diploma (say 1 - 2 years) esp in computers than you have a very high chance of getting an aussie permenant residence (equivalent to citizenship except without voting rights)....anyway point is simple you get cheaper tutition fees and the govt will pay them for you...you can also get youth allowance.

Might be worth your while to get immigration before you start your study...? You never know where you will want to stay...after all Australia is now ranked higher than Canada by the UN.

email me @ redshifteffect@yahoo.ca for any more info

• 3 weeks later...
Guest redshifteffect

I think Adelaide does, and I know for a fact that Monash (in Melbourne) does. Monash is a 5 year degree. Tas will also be a 5 year degree in a few years. I think WA does too. (Perth). Also Uni of NSW in sydney and Bond in the Gold Coast will be offering one soon.