Premed 101 Forums

Ethics in Ontario re: What constitutes as a minor

I know the doctor is supposed to judge based on child's maturity. But I mean most docs aren't child psychologists/teachers/specialized social workers. I'm sure they have general common sense and experience, but I think there should be SOME line drawn rather than letting the doctor call all the shots.

For instance, the rule doesn't have to be hard/fast, but I would say MOST 12 year olds should still be considered as minors. Sure, there are mature ones, but I think there has to be SOME kind of standard and not just "let the doctor decide" through perhaps only 1 opportunity of like a 30 min visit.

How do doctors feel about this in general? Of course I have no experience, but I would imagine it would be a pretty difficult ethical decision to make when given 30 min to get to know a child and see how "mature" they are.

you could consider if they understand in what they are saying, if their reasoning is like that of an adult, would you treat him or her like an adult? If you wouldnt feel comfortable depending on the scenario, or if you think ppl would question you, why not ask a colleague what he or she would do, grab one from the hallway or something.

When you say "minors"...are you referring to the ability to give informed consent?

Informed consent really does need to be done on a case by case basis. Age is not the determining factor in being considered competent to make decisions. Furthermore, a person can be deemed competent to make some decisions in one area but not decisions in another area....so being competent to make informed decisions is not black and white regardless of age.