Premed 101 Forums

Why do people bomb the first year?

Guest newfoundlander06

Guest newfoundlander06

Hello, I am a highschool student interested in a career in medicine. I am planning on attending McMaster to do Biochemistry or Biophysics, but I was wondering, why do peoples marks drop in the first year? I have read a lot of posts on this forum with people saying that they bombed out in their first year, and I would like to avoid that if possible. I have a 97% average in highschool, and I was wondering if it is at all possible to maintain a good academic record throughout university. Do marks drop just because of drinking and partying, or are there other factors. Please repond with advice!

Thanks

Guest UBCGuyFromAlberta

Newfoundlander,

Marks do no neccessarily bomb, however I would absolutely expect them to drop. I was very similar to you marks wise coming out of highschool, 96-97 or something like that. The reason that marks go down is three main reasons in my opinion. Firstly it is a huge jump to university as far as the amount of freedom you have and what you are responsible for. There is a lot more work and a lot more "life" things that you need to deal with. Secondly is the academics itself. You learn alot more than you did in highschool in a shorter time. That does not mean that you can't get great marks, it just means that you need to adjust to the workload and develop a system of studying that will make you successful. And thirdly, something that I cannot comment on really, is the partying. This is especially true if you go away to school, I have watched tonnes of people get into trouble with partying, but that being said if you don't want to go down that road no one is forcing you. I don't "party" (ie drink) myself, but I have as much or more fun than those who do.