Premed 101 Forums

Schulich Scholarship

isn't it "would be unable to attend medical school for financial reasons?" but doesn't that criteria become unsatisfiable by virtually everyone regardless of socioeconomic status, since huge bank lines of credit are readily available to med students?

Maybe not everyone can actually secure a line of credit if they already have debt and/or their family has a low income/bad credit/no equity. I have no experience whatsoever in this but I'm sure there's some people out there that may have a hard time getting a loan/line of credit even with the future projected income based on becoming a physician.

Thank god canadian schools aren't like some American ones who demand $240,000 be put in a trust fund before beginning first year, cuz with that there would be a whole lot more people who would actually be unable to attend medical school for financial reasons (imagine building up interest on a $240K loan for 4 whole years - ouch!).

It does seem a little off though, because I would think that the large majority of people would be able to secure the standard med school line of credit, and then there's no difference between someone from a low family income background and someone who funds their own education. Personally I'm not going to bother filling out the Schulich app because I don't think my family income/assets would be considered super low, even though I'll be financing school myself.

yeah, maybe i'm assuming too much, but I got the impression that the med student line of credit is offered with little/no questions asked from MD management, scotiabank, and rbc provided you are registered at an ontario or canadian medical school.