Premed 101 Forums

25 year old student looking for advice

I'm a somewhat non-traditional student.

I graduated back in 2005 with a double honours in microbiology/immunology and biochemistry from Dalhousie University (GPA 3.85)

After graduation, I travelled to Japan and taught English for 18 months.

Upon my return to Canada in March of 2007, I decided to spend the summer relaxing and studying for the MCAT. I scored a 35R 11 Verbal, 13 Physics, 11 Biology.

With no definate plan for the 2007/2008 year, I took several science classes and worked 20 hours/week with Sylvan Learning Centres teaching highschool maths and sciences.

I have over 100 hours of direct interaction with patients in the hospital setting.

Sadly, it looks like I will probably be unable to get into medical school this year. I was rejected from 4 of 5 institutions, and have not yet heard from the fifth.

This has kind of shaken me up, and I'm wondering what other option may be available for me to get into medical school. Is it worth applying next year? Or should I move on. Are there non-Canadian options available for me? I am currently enrolled for an 18 month teaching degree at University of Alberta, but this was definately not my first choice. Any help on alternative institutions, or advice for improving my application would be appreciated.

Hi sandwich

You said your degree is from Dal, do you mind me asking where you are a permanent resident (i.e. which province) and where you applied?

Your academic stats seem really good. Perhaps there is something else with your application that needs to be improved. You said you have a lot of medically related experience, is it possible that you just didn't describe that experience and your other life experiences well in your essays? Also, how did you find interviews? I assume you intereviewed at those 5 schools. If interviewing isn't your stong area maybe you can take some interview skills workshops to improve.