Premed 101 Forums

To Kara

Guest tantastic

Guest tantastic

Hey Kara:

I was wondering when you completed your first degree in Neuroscience? Was there a big gap in years btw that degree and your new degree in Rad sciences?

If so I think that some Irish schools will ignore your earlier GPA depending on the time that has passed between your first degree and the current Rad degree.

Take Care :)

Guest Kara

Tantastic:

You might be right. Yes,there was a major gap. I finished my neuroscience degree in 1988. I was mostly working from 1988 to Sept. 2002; however, I did manage to finish 7 more full courses (just for interest) over the span of those post-degree years (all at U of T). The last credit was taken in 1996. I also tried dentistry (among some other programs) at U of T but dropped out of the programme after a couple of months. I didn't like the field whatsoever. But I didn't mention this in my application since I didn't end up finishing any dentistry courses.

I also mailed AB my first term (fall) marks of my current Rad programme. I had a sessional 3.83 GPA. Before applying I also did e-mail them and ask if my age might work against me. They told me age plays no role.

Kara

Guest tantastic

Hey Kara;

I don't think those earlier bad marks will be counted because I had a friend in a similar situation and they ignored her entire first degree.

BTW what field did you work in after the neuroscience degree, I just finished a double major neuroscience/pharmacology degree at UofT and I'm looking at different careers should I not get into a professional program or Ireland Carib etc.

That's interesting that you were in dentistry, when did you go into that program? was that directly after undergrad? May I ask what aspects of dentistry that you didn't like?

Thanks again :)

Take care

Guest Kara

Tantastic,