Premed 101 Forums

med schools, need advice.

Guest RWLOOO

Guest RWLOOO

Hello. my name is Robert. I'm 22, just got my B.S. degree and am looking at medical schools. The problem is my G.P.A. is sucky; 3.0. But I have a loaded degree in professional chemistry as well as a physics minor. That program is REALLY tough. I realize that it is not good enough to get into med school here in the U.S. so I am looking other places. What I want to know is have any of you heard of a school called Kigezi. It is in Cambridge, England. From what I've read I am pretty confident I can get in there. But is the school worth it? Also, St. Matthews in the Cayman Islands as well as another school on St. Kitts. I can't remember the name of the school on St. Kitts I believe it is called the International......(something). Does anybody know anything about these schools. Also, I here if you leave the mainland it is really tough to come back and get a residency in the U.S. Obviously, I do not want to work my butt of for 7 years and get shut out of my home country. Or do you think that with my G.P.A. I need to consider other career options? I know this is a Canadian forum but I think Canada and the U.S. are pretty much in the same boat when it comes to this. I need help. Somebody please give me some advice?!:eek

Guest cradlecrotch

In terms of Caribbean schools, my first piece of advice would be to consider the following schools: Ross, St George's, AUC and Saba. The rest are dicey propositions, with significant restrictions in terms of what states you will be allowed to practice in. St. Chris and Kigezi are located in the UK, but are licensed in African countries. I don't know too much about these 2. You CAN get a US residency without much trouble...Canadians do it every year...you will be required to seek an H1-B visa.

Guest peachy