Premed 101 Forums

Co-op student with terrible GPA.

1) So from what I have read... at the moment the GPA cutoff is 3.7. What I don't understand..or maybe i am very shocked...is how some of you guys get a 4.0 gpa. Does it mean you got 4.0/ 4.0 so you had a 100% in every class?

or does 4.0 mean A/ A+ as long as you got a A it means you are at 4.0

3.7/4 = 92.5% so you NEED a 92.5% average.

OR

while a 3.7 means A- as long as you get A- average then you meet the cut off.

because at my school 80% = A- if I get an 80% avg does that mean i meet the cut off of 3.7/4 or i MUST get a 92.5% avg?

2) I am a co-op student and was told that because of being a co-op student I am required to have:

at least 1 year of 30 credit hours that meets the min GPA + we will take one term in the regular academic year

(September-December or January-April) with a full course load which

meets the minimum GPA...

i dont have the policy of greater than 3.7 avg and look into current year if u only have one year at the moment that is above the min gpa. avg.

for co-op 1year + .5 year must be greater than 3.7

IS a full course load = 15 credits then?

3)

This is my plan:

sept2008 -april 2009 = 1 year 30 credits

May 2009 - December 2009 = co-op

JAn 2010 - april 2010 = 1 full course term load ( 15 credits)

May 2010 - July 2010 finish 2 more courses to graduate.

At this time I can apply to the school and technically i would have finished my graduate degree and they would only consider my bolded years/ terms right?

this technically should make sense right?

4) i dont think anyone can answer this but i'll ask anyway

UWO says you need to have 60% of the courses correlating to the current school year you are in.

as a co-op student i have a very messed up schedule. i have only complete part of 3rd year 1st term. when i start school in sept 2008 i am finishing 3rd year

the problem is

sept 2008 - december 2008 is technically the second half of 3rd year