Premed 101 Forums

Canadian versus American residency opportunities for Canadian med students

Hi,

I am just entering Canadian medical school and have begun to think of specialties. I know that certain residencies are pretty rare. I've heard that some of them may be up to say 10 spots and so on.

I was just wondering how the U.S compared to Canada in terms of residency availabilities. For instance, I heard that there are many more dermatology programs (40ish) than in Canada.

So is it a good idea to consider writing the USMLE after Canadian medical school if you want to get into the extremely competitive specialties? (As you may have a better chance applying to the U.S than Canada)

And then is it possible to return back to Canada after making it in the U.S? Even if it takes a few years extra to get back, it might still be better than not making it at all in Canada, right?

Thanks!

I have limited experience and knowledge when it comes to doing residencies in the USA, but here is some info:

1. There are more residency spots for competitive programs like derm in the USA( 6 vs 40ish). Unfortunately, there are also more medical students - approximately 10x more than in Canada. For some specialties like Emergency, there are far more residency spots in the USA than in Canada: something like 22 to >100. Additionally, to do a competitive residency in the USA requires that you DESTROY the USMLE step I to be even considered. If you screw that exam up, then that's it, you're done. Although, in Canada, I'm not even sure what landing a residency requires; its all pretty arbitrary - I've seen superstars go unmatched, and questionable admissions land hardcore spots. C'est la vie.

That being said, there are far more networking opportunities in the USA solely because there are more doctors and more medical schools. There are far more research opportunities as well.