Premed 101 Forums

2nd undergrad vs. extra year + MSc

ema2iur

Hey Guys,

Sorry in advance for the verbose post but any insight would be greatly appreciated. I am finishing up my final year of undergrad science at McMaster and I was hoping to get some insight about what I should/could do in regards to my med aspirations.

So as the title implies, my gpa right now is not good and I am debating whether I should come back for an extra year to raise my gpa and then most likely do a masters degree, or whether I should do a second undergrad degree.My EC's are decent and I am not too worried on that front. Also, I am in a co-op program taught in pbl format so I have the pbl experience for Mac and I've had a lot of lab experience as I am completing an honours thesis.

My gpa is going to be about 3.3 after I am done so this is where I would be lacking in my application and where I would need improvement. I am considering coming back for an extra year and count it as my special year for Western because I already have a 3.7 in this last year (and just below the year before). If I was to pass their MCAT requirements, which I think I could if I would buckle down for it then I could potentially secure an interview there. Also, Mac counts all undergrad courses ever taken for your gpa so coming back would help me there as well.

I am open to completing a grad degree and not just for the sake of improving my application for med school but also because I have liked where I have researched. The question is how much a grad degree would benefit my application with such a low GPA...I don't even make UofO's undergrad cut-off if I go for a grad degree (3.5 gpa). Although schools such as Mac, Toronto, and Ottawa do consider grad degrees, I am really struggling to determine whether it could help such a low GPA (although I know Mac lets in like 5-7% of students with gpas between 3 and 3.5 so they must be students with grad degrees and sick EC's).