Premed 101 Forums

UNBSJ med, views and opinions?

As a New Brunswick student i would like to know how the pre-med society feels about the move from dal to unbsj. Opinions, pro's con's its all welcome in this thread.

I for one feel somewhat cheated. Dalhousie was one of my top picks for medical school however, now i would have to study in SJ and i would hate to have to reside in SJ. The city just doesn't seem appealing to me. Also i don't know how committed the province really is at making this a successful and smooth process. I would rather not be in the program the first few years as it starts up.

Just wanted to start up the conversation. Let me know what you think.

I'm not sure whether all NB students will end up in Saint John come 2010 - I don't think it's actually been decided yet (I know it sounds definite on the website FAQ... don't take my word on that, though!). The topic has come up in our class from time to time, as it certainly won't be the same (not that we'll notice much, given that Med IIIs seldom if ever see Med Is).

Anyway, I know there's lots of work going on to prepare, along with the corresponding funding commitments. So that needn't be a worry. Ideally, the expansion could come entirely in Halifax, but the facilities are already stretched with 101 of us this year.

Yea i would love for the expansion to all take place in Halifax. If i am to stay on the eastern side of Canada that would probably be the place. So your saying that there is speculation that come 2010 there might be some sort of split like 15/15 for example or something? That would be good news because like you said on the dal website that question is up literally word for word and it says that all NB applicants will only be considered for the SJ program.

It does state pretty explicitly that new brunswickers would only be able to attend the sj campus. Unfortunately, it seems this would mean that you guys would have no chance at all to attend medical school in halifax.