Premed 101 Forums

Should Canadian med students write the USMLE's?

Guest puppyshizzle

Guest puppyshizzle

I did not know where to post this, but here seemed reasonable. I'm a second year medical student, and was debating whether or not to write the USMLE this upcoming summer. Has anyone written it, or is anyone else planning on doing so?

I've been wondering about the exam and am a little confused. I do not necessarily want to do a residency in the states (however don't want to rule it out either) but I would like the option of being able to go down there eventually do either do a fellowship or perhaps work for a period of time at one of their large centers.

Is the exam only for those wanting to do a residency there? Is it also required (step 1, 2, 3) in order for a Canadian trained doc to go down there just to do a fellowship? Further, what if I trained here in any given specialty and wanted to go down there to work for some time... do I need the exam or are there board exams for each specialty which must be written?

Any response/insight would be much appreciated...

Edited the subject title to make it more descriptive. -Ian

Guest Ian Wong

It's a confusing issue, and not one where there's a simple solution that fits all problems. Many US states recognise the LMCC exams (both of them) as equivalent to the USMLE exams (all three of them), and therefore if you happen to be interested in one of those states, the LMCC marks will count as your USMLE scores. I don't happen to know which states those are, unfortunately.