Premed 101 Forums

NSERC Average

I just got my marks back from my exams, and I'm pretty sure my average is sitting at an 86. I'm thinking of applying for NSERC awards at my school (UWO), but people tell me that even those with 92+ averages don't win these awards. Does anyone have any experience with this, or how high their average was when they won? Bear in mind that I'm in first year, and my marks will certainly go up in the coming semester (I'm hoping for 90ish as final average).

Thanks for taking the time to read this, I looked at the research sticky, but couldn't find the kind of grades one would need to be competitive.

All you technically need is a 3.5 to get an NSERC. That said, you're fighting an uphill battle for 2 reasons

1) A lot of the less exceptional students who get NSERC's have parents in the health care field. It's more about who you know than what you know

2) NSERC's are typically reserved for more upper year undergrads. You'll struggle to get one out of 1st year

Might as well apply anyway, as I know people who got NSERC's out of first year, but don't get your hopes too high

I just got my marks back from my exams, and I'm pretty sure my average is sitting at an 86. I'm thinking of applying for NSERC awards at my school (UWO), but people tell me that even those with 92+ averages don't win these awards. Does anyone have any experience with this, or how high their average was when they won? Bear in mind that I'm in first year, and my marks will certainly go up in the coming semester (I'm hoping for 90ish as final average).

Thanks for taking the time to read this, I looked at the research sticky, but couldn't find the kind of grades one would need to be competitive.

I got an NSERC with an 80 avg, but I had a great ref from a prof I was volunteering with and had laid out a good research plan

they look more at your research 'potential' than your marks, necessarily

at least, this is how these awards are given out at Queen's