Premed 101 Forums

verifiers

• 2 weeks later...
so does anyone have any update on this? no one has checked any of my verifiers but I am not in contact with all of them regularly. do they check everyones verifiers? or only those on the bubble?

thanks

I am in first year, and as far as I know, my extracurricular verifiers were not contacted.

Well I applied last year, and UBC contacted 2 of my verifiers! or at least only 2 of them told me about it. I found out this year when I was contacting them for my current application. I think they randomely choose verifiers from your list and contact them. You should email your verifiers to make sure you both agree on the number of hours and tasks before putting them down on your application, since that's what they asked mine.

• 1 month later...

i put the wrong year one activity and I had a crappy description for another so I think they wanted to follow up. my bad for being lazy and not putting in enough effort. but after writing the autobiography my heart just wasn't into doing a stellar job on the activity descriptions...

I'm pretty sure I read somewhere that if your verifier disagrees with something you said, ubc will contact you and say "Kiwi! you got some 'splaining to do!!"

so you can get the misunderstanding or whatever sorted out. It wouldn't be fair if they just took the verifier's word and discredited you without getting your side of the story.

What happens if your verifier disagrees with something like the # of hours? Would UBC contact you so you have a chance to explain yourself? (I didn't lie about anything but sometimes misunderstandings can occur)

It's an application for medical school. If you're not that competent or care enough to fill the application correctly, they why should they care? I don't think they'll call you and let you explain yourself. Please...they don't have an applicant shortage you know.