Premed 101 Forums

Deferred Exams and Acceptance

I think you might be in trouble. I checked into this quite a bit (corresponding with UBC med admissions because the chem course I needed (orgo) was full in the second semester. From what they told me the deadline is extremely strict. I am supremely doubtful that even if you do awesome in the interview, and would otherwise be offered a spot, that they would allow you to matriculate. It probably wouldn't even get that far though.

You should probably contact admissions and see if you can beg and work something out. I went the other way and begged the chem department to let me in explaining my circumstances. It worked and might be your only feasible option.

Good luck.

My situation is somewhat different but more or less on similar boat. I'm a first year graduate student in a 2 year course based master program. I was hoping to complete it in 1 year by taking the practicum and two other courses in the summer and be eligible for matriculation. Good news is I got invited for the interview, but the bad news is I can only complete everything by mid-August. Since the deadline to finish the degree is July 1st, I might have to be removed from the interview process since my program director cannot lie about my estimated completion date. My question is, if I can extend my master program to 5 years, can I be eligible for this year's interview and subsequent selection process? Or is it a must that I will be finishing my current graduate program before July 1st?