Premed 101 Forums

US Timeline question

Hello everyone,

I'm pretty new to the US application process, so I was wondering if I could get some advice on when to take the MCAT.

From what I understand, you want to send your primary in quite early (say June), so that it has time to be checked/reviewed and then sent to schools so that they can (hopefully :)) send you back materials for the secondaries during the summer.

However, where does the MCAT fit in all of this? I mean do you have to have taken the MCAT before June so that your scores are in for the primary, or is it alright if you take it later on while AMCAS is verifying your application?

I was planning on taking the MCAT in early July, so that I have more time to study, but I'm wondering whether that will be early enough. I mean do schools wait to see your MCAT scores before they send you secondaries? Or do MCAT scores only count at the time of secondary review?

Thanks, your advice is much appreciated :)

Neurogirl

Hello everyone,

I'm pretty new to the US application process, so I was wondering if I could get some advice on when to take the MCAT.

From what I understand, you want to send your primary in quite early (say June), so that it has time to be checked/reviewed and then sent to schools so that they can (hopefully :)) send you back materials for the secondaries during the summer.

However, where does the MCAT fit in all of this? I mean do you have to have taken the MCAT before June so that your scores are in for the primary, or is it alright if you take it later on while AMCAS is verifying your application?

I was planning on taking the MCAT in early July, so that I have more time to study, but I'm wondering whether that will be early enough. I mean do schools wait to see your MCAT scores before they send you secondaries? Or do MCAT scores only count at the time of secondary review?

Thanks, your advice is much appreciated :)

Neurogirl