Premed 101 Forums

Applying to USA Med... MSAR stats

Hi everybody,

I'm a Canadian student that is thinking of applying to American med schools this summer (as well as a few Canadian ones). So I've been going over all the threads to amass as much information as possible regarding application to American schools.

I've seen some people write that Canadian applicants stand a decent chance of getting into an American schools...

but this doesn't seem to be consistent with the stats that are in the MSAR...

here are the stats for Rosalind/chicago, for example, which many have described as being a 'Canadian friendly' school.

-

# of internationals that applied: 691

# of these applicants invited for interview: 53

Matriculated: 17

-

So only 2% of those that applied ultimately got in??? That seems like a pretty low (and by pretty low i mean ridiculously low) number for a "Canadian friendly" school.

Am i missing something here??

I mean for someone with stats like myself (GPA: 3.5; MCAT: 34Q; about 150 hours of volunteering; favorite color: red :) ) should i even bother applying?

any insight would be greatly greatly greatly appreciated!

Guest viscous
Not all American schools consider Canadians as international students (most of them do not - I've emailed something like 40 schools last year and asked that). So, Canadians wouldn't be listed under international maticulants in that case.

are you sure about that? If that is the case then why would Canadians pay tuition as "international students?"

Another factor to consider is that the number that matriculate is going to be a lot lower than the number that are actually accepted because many Canadian applicants apply to the US as a backup and don't end up matriculating if they get accepted to a Canadian school. If you look at the stats from this forum you will see that there have already been a number of Canadian applicants that have interviewed and been accepted at US schools this year.