Premed 101 Forums

US Med Schools with High GPA, High MCAT (but average verbal)

Hey guys!

I'm an undergraduate student at the University of Toronto (Permanent resident of Canada).

I am planning to apply to american med schools this year, and wanted to get a feel about what the average requirements are for the good schools there, and whether I have a good shot if I apply in 2009 (to begin in Sept 2010).

My stats:

cGPA: 3.88

sGPA: 3.89 (lol, i suck at humanities)

MCAT:

PS: 14

BS: 13

WS: T

VS: 08 (aargh... freakin' verbal!)

I also have 2 years of research experience, although 2 of my manuscripts are currently being written (no publications yet)..

So far, I'm considering (in no specific order):

Hopkins

Columbia

Yale

Duke

Stanford

U of Pennsylvania

Dartmouth (? how's this school.. ranked 13th for primary care by us news report, 31st by research)

Thanks for the insight fellas!

Hey guys!

I'm an undergraduate student at the University of Toronto (Permanent resident of Canada).

I am planning to apply to american med schools this year, and wanted to get a feel about what the average requirements are for the good schools there, and whether I have a good shot if I apply in 2009 (to begin in Sept 2010).

My stats:

cGPA: 3.88

sGPA: 3.89 (lol, i suck at humanities)

MCAT:

PS: 14

BS: 13

WS: T

VS: 08 (aargh... freakin' verbal!)

I also have 2 years of research experience, although 2 of my manuscripts are currently being written (no publications yet)..

So far, I'm considering (in no specific order):

Hopkins

Columbia

Yale

Duke

Stanford

U of Pennsylvania

Dartmouth (? how's this school.. ranked 13th for primary care by us news report, 31st by research)

Thanks for the insight fellas!