Premed 101 Forums

Questions for UoS Students

Why should one choose U of S Med? (Pros and Cons of the School)

What is the curriculum like at U of S?

And how is Health care any different in Sask, compared to the other provinces/Canada in general (anything special?)... any good resources to learn about health in sask?

Amnesty:

Pros:

The class is quite a bit smaller than most other schools (just over 80 students), so its easy to get to know the people in your class and in the upper years very well.

Our professors are fantastic.

Cons:

At times there are some troubles with organization. Its tough to know when assignments are due, when we have lab quizes, which classes are when etc. But this issue has been brought to the attention of the administration and they are doing their best to keep this to a minimum.

Cirriculum:

As I'm only in my first year, I can only comment on what I've experienced so far.

The courses you take as a Med I are equivalent to 43 credit units. So almost a year and a half of courses in one year.

Form & Function will be your biggest class, where you tackle the physiology, anatomy, histology and embryology of the human body one system at a time (cardiovascular, respiratory, head & neck, etc). In addition to this big class there are courses in Neuroanatomy, Pathology, and Medical Biochemistry. Aside from these basic science courses, you're also required to take Professional Skills (where you learn how to a comprehensive patient interview and perform a physical exam as well as discuss ethics and develop your communication skills.) and Professional Issues in Medicine (you discuss current issues medicine). Finally there is Lifecycles & Humanities. In lifecycles you discuss child development, breastfeeding, complementary medicine or just get a chance to talk about anything on your mind (stress, etc).

Healthcare: