Premed 101 Forums

Please help this noobie

Hello.

My name is Brian and I am a dentist-so-wanna be.

I have been watching this forum for some time and found it very helpful, thus decided to join.

Well, before I post my question, congratulations to all who got accepted or closely waitlisted.

I was just wondering if I have any shot at dentistry myself. I really want to become a dentist but unsure about my chances in Canadian dental schools.

Currently I am in 3rd year at U of T, in Biology.

My cGPA is garbage, as it is at 3.6/4.0.

If I drop my first year (which is the worst one), I would have 3.85/4.0.

Here are my marks for the last 2 years.

2nd year fall: 86,85,87,80,77 :3.8GPA

2nd year spring: 89,88,82,77,85: 3.8GPA

2nd year summer: 88,85: 4.0 GPA

3rd year fall: 86,89,90,88: 4.0 GPA

3rd year winter: 86,88,77,82: 3.75GPA ---- notice in 3rd year, I only took 4 courses in each semester as I was taking nightschool at the same time. I know some schools will penalize me for it, but don't reall know how much.

Cumulative for the 2 years including summer: 3.85/4.0 GPA.

I am currently working with 3 professor and all of them will write me decent RL. Other then that I am just involved in a small club and nothing else.

I know UofT dent has cut off 3.92. Does this mean I have no shot at UT?

Also, do they look at your summer marks it falls between the 2 years that are being counted?

I have not taken DAT yet. Planning to study my @ss off this summer and take it in november.

Let me know what you guys think.

Any advice is appreciated.

Thank.

I think you'd have a decent shot at a lot of the Canadian schools, including U of T. (I'm not sure how severely the schools penalize for a bad first year average or taking less than a full course load at a time though). If your pre-reqs were good, I think you'd be likely to get interviews. Do well on the DAT and interviews and you'll be all set!

Good luck :)

M