Premed 101 Forums

Need Help Plz: What are my chances? (low GPA)

Hi guys, I would like to get some feedback/advice/comments regarding my chances of getting into a US med school.

I have a BSc from Univ of Toronto with a cGPA of 3.21 (Double major in Life Science and Physiology, Graduated in 2008)

Since then I took some courses at York University as a non-degree student to improve my GPA. (Getting all A's so far, but 1 year of 4.0 would bring my GPA to only 3.4ish)

My MCAT isn't too strong, I have 29Q (13 P, 7 V, 9 B) and I am retaking it in the summer to improve on verbal and biological sciences.

I am planning to do another year of undergraduate to pull my GPA up to 3.5, and I was thinking to wait and apply in June 2010 with a better MCAT score rather than applying this year with a weak MCAT score, especially when I hear that applying later in the cycle (e.g.Oct, Nov) can seriously jeopardize my chances.

This is my plan so far, but having not many advisors around who are familiar with the US system, I would like your help on assessing my plan.

For additional info, I have 4 summers of research experience with one publication, was the president of two clubs back in U of T, played in an intramural soccer team, and am planning to work in the hospital for some clinical experience.

Any comment would be appreciated.

Thanks a lot!

Hey, firstly, Ive heard that Canadian undergrads have a hard time with American universities, because they are considered to be international. Perhaps you should do more research on universities that consider Canadians equivalent to Americans. On other forums Ive seen other canadians with 3.5 get into universities that consider Canadians equivalent to Americans.

also I had a question about your schools, Did you go to UofT Scarborough? or UofTsg? and do you think York Is much better then UofT for undergrad overall?

thanks in advanced about your answers.