Premed 101 Forums

Trying To Choose Master's Subject

Guest Jazzey

Guest Jazzey

I'd like to take on a Master's... at the moment, I've got several different areas that I'm interested in, ranging from MA to MSc to MHSc (more like a professional degree) - a wide range I know, but I majored in science and minored in arts, and have lots of different interests.

Anyway, I'm curious to know if U of T med seems to show preference for any certain area of grad work? I have heard that U of T appreciates grad students who have research experience because they are a research intensive med school, so does this mean that they would favour grad work in medical sciences, like anatomy? What about in arts? Or an MHSc in public health, like Health Promotion? I'm not sure if you would be able to do research in these two areas in medical school, so are they not as favourable?

Also, if you take on a 2 year master's degree, can you apply while in your first year, and if so, how much weight will the marks that you get in grad school have on your overall GPA? If your undergraduate GPA falls below the cut-off, will you have to wait until after your first year of grad work is done to see if your marks can raise your GPA above this mark?

Thanks for any help!

Guest therealcrackers

Having been through the wars at U of T SGS, and gotten in (eventually) to Western Meds, here are the points I would like to offer.