Premed 101 Forums

MD/PhD questions.......

Guest blinknoodle

Guest blinknoodle

I wasn't quite too sure where to post this, but I figure the majority of those in an MD/PhD program are reading this board.

I need some advice. I'm going into my fourth year of a health sciences program in the fall, and I am planning on applying to MD/PhD programs.. I am an Ontario resident, and have satisfied the med school pre-reqs for Western and Toronto.. but I haven't taken any english courses or the second half of first-year physics yet. I could take these next year, but these really don't thrill me. Since I would be OOP for Alberta and McGill, and that's where I'd need the pre-reqs, I was wondering whether I should even bother taking them. Are the MD/PhD spots even based on your residence?

As well, another quick question: since I have to apply to both the graduate schools and medical schools independently, should my references (or myself for that matter) add in that I'm applying for the joint program, or should that be left out? I really am more interested in research, but should I rather emphasize my interpersonal skills, med school charms, for the med school..

So, in the end, will I be getting 3 sets of acceptances/rejections from a) the med school, B) the grad school, and c) the joint program -- or will it simply culminate with 1 accept/rej for the MD/PhD program?

OK, so if anyone can help me out, that would be great!

:)

Guest peachy

Hi Blinknoodle,

You should take a look at the U of T MD/PhD website if you haven't already.

Should my references (or myself for that matter) add in that I'm applying for the joint program, or should that be left out?