Premed 101 Forums

Health Sciences at Western or McMaster?

I'm a grade 11 student going to school in London, Ontario (I'm in the International Baccalaureate Program). My goal is to become a family physician.

Since I'm applying to university in the fall, I need to make some big decisions. Right now, my top 2 choices for universities for an undergraduate degree are UWO's Health Sciences or McMaster's Health Sciences.

I've been doing a lot of research about both and have discovered a lot of contradictions and different opinions about these programs. Which one is best if I want to be a family physician, taking into account the entire student experience and quality of education? I want to have a great undergraduate experience, and while I know marks are important to get into medical school, the likelihood of getting a high GPA at a certain university isn't all I'm looking for.

I'm leaning more towards Western right now because I could still live at home and avoid paying high costs for residence/food/Internet/car/etc. I also want to do the Certificat de francais pratique program that is at Western.

In case I change my mind of becoming a physician, I also want to make sure that I would still be able to get a job with whatever degree I choose.

What other programs at Western, McMaster, or Ottawa would be beneficial?

All programs at all universities lead to medicine provided you do well, have the ECs and volunteering. If you study that which interests you or you are passionate about, you are likely to do better. And you are thing about a Plan B, this is smart, b/c getting into medicine is a lottery and we all don't make it.

I'm a grade 11 student going to school in London, Ontario (I'm in the International Baccalaureate Program). My goal is to become a family physician.