Premed 101 Forums

Ph.D. Applicants

Guest Spritzer5

Guest sally2001

I don't believe it's legal for med schools to actively discriminate based on age, however i'm not sure what the general tendency is.

but i believe i read some posts on this forum of ph.d graduates that got into u of t (i recall a "beaver" and there might be some others)

Guest therealcrackers

I did a PhD at U of T, and didn't even get an interview there... however, I think they insist that the degree be completed before the bulk of the application process is completed. I got into Western, tho...

Guest Spritzer5

Congrats on your acceptance to Western! After completing your Ph.D and then continuing with medicine -now that's commitment.

Any idea how the selection committees score graduate students for research productivity? How do they compare accepted papers to submitted papers, or authorship order, or abstract presentations at international meetings vs. local gigs.

Guest Biochem10

I personally know two people who did PhDs before entering into meds at U of T. One of these people had applied to medicine after undergrad, but didn't get in and the other decided during grad school that she wanted to do medicine. I think that U of T looks favourably on these candidates, however, I don't think that there is too many of them applying. Apparently, it's a little easier (in terms of GPA) to get in after a PhD then after undergrad. One thing is certain, you are definetly NOT too old after a PhD. Just check out some of the candidates applying to Mac and you'll see that you are never to old to apply to meds. Good luck.

Guest therealcrackers