Premed 101 Forums

WRITING COURSES IN UNDERGRAD

Guest Pyrrolysine

Guest Pyrrolysine

Hey guys, I would like to have some opinions here.

Probably the biggest weakness most people will encounter on their MCAT is the writing sample. Speaking as an undergraduate student, I have not had a lot of practice with writing (being a science student) and I have no idea what to put down on the paper when I see those topics given in the writing samples. Some people told me there are some political issues, philosophical issues, ethical issues..etc..etc. This is heck of a lot of heavy duty stuff for the mind of a student entering second year. Of course, there will be issues I might be familiar with, and those I probably have never encountered before.

What would you recommend to take as a good writing course? I'm really tempted to take Political Science but I'm not sure it's a good idea. I need a good GPA as well as practice with writing. Political Science is not something I'm familiar with. Once again, I find myself in a dilemma. I need some help from somebody. Please reply soon.

Guest cheech10

The writing sample is not that bad. Just follow the instructions explicitly. Keep up with some current events, and practice different topics. I would concentrate much more on the verbal reasoning.

Guest TimmyMax

Hey,

I agree with Cheech- VR is ultimately what will make or break you on the MCAT, especially for science types like us. At this point, it would seem more productive to focus your energy on doing well on that section; well, spend as much time as you can afford- the deadline is quickly approaching! :P

The WS really isn't a big deal IMHO, and so long as you complete every task they expect of you in a complete and concise manner, you should be fine. Personally, I never did a "practice" WS, and I managed to do just fine in my two sittings (S both times). But then again, that's me and it's important to prepare in the way that you feel is most beneficial to you.

Best of luck!