Premed 101 Forums

average GPA and getting in

Guest 38x

k, depending on how exams go, i'll have a 3.82 to a 3.86 when I apply next year (i'm in 2nd year right now)

now, here's my question. with my 3.82, will i have to score in the top 10% (or higher?) on the interview and essay to get in?

how about with a 3.86?

Thank you all for your input

Guest cheech10

No one really knows how the GPA is scored, ie. how GPA is converted to a mark out of 60. That said, if we simplify things and consider one of the 3.85 GPA people to be totally average in all aspects, you would probably have to do somewhat above average on the essay and interview to be confident of a spot. The essay is VERY importnt though, since some people have been rejected in the past with similar (or higher) GPAs. So basically, give it your best, and best of luck.

Guest ThugJaan

Hey,

The average of people getting into med school is around a 3.85 or so. If you have a 3.82, you will need to have a pretty damn good interview and sketch to get in, esp. as a 3rd year student!

A 3.86 will make life easier, but you will still ned to be better than average!

The biggest problem ist hatyou are only in 3rd year [whenyou apply]. Most third year applicants are usually looked upon with less mercy and tend to require higher averages and more impressive sketches/interviews to warrant consideration.

Guest GD721

I am a fourth year applicant and I had an interview at UT in the first interview wkd and I only have a 3.79 UT converted GPA. I had a pretty good interview experience I thought but since my GPA is so low are my chances of getting into UT this year slim if not non-existent?

• 1 month later...
Guest markvivid

Sorry to bring this up, especially since this discussion was from so long ago, but I'm new to this entire forum. Its so helpful!

I'm a 2nd year student and will apply next year.