Premed 101 Forums

I graduated high school, but I need to go back for two credits. Can I apply for Feb?

euro

Wait a sec... what? You have a uni degree with a competitive GPA, but a med school is requiring you to complete your High School? I've never heard of any Canadian Med School having any interest in high school... some of them even neglect ECs done at this age.

Wait a sec... what? You have a uni degree with a competitive GPA, but a med school is requiring you to complete your High School? I've never heard of any Canadian Med School having any interest in high school... some of them even neglect ECs done at this age.

My mistake for not clarifying... I'm applying for undergrad.

My mistake for not clarifying... I'm applying for undergrad.

Generally, schools allow admission into undergrad during the winter semester, however, if you do so, you will also be a semester late in graduating undergrad. Which means you will have to wait an extra year before applying to med. So either way, you miss a year.

You could of course get around this by taking summer courses. Unfortunately however, that takes up valuable time in the summer for MCAT studying and extracurriculars. Furthermore, it means that you graduated in 3.5 years, and not the 4 that many med schools require (since summer courses dont count towards your med school application). You might want to contact med schools you're interested in to see if 3.5 years is ok.

What's the holdup anyways? Is it your high school or MacMaster that's giving you a hard time? If it's your high school, see if they'll accept university level credits, since you'll likely have to take these for credit for your program (assuming you're doing a typical pre-med degree). This kills 2 birds with one stone, and might save you a year. If it's the uni... well, I dunno then. Just register and see what happens. Not a lot of background gets checked sometimes.