Premed 101 Forums

MCAT score- opinions/suggestions on course of action

GGGSaint

Hey guys,

Appreciate your responses ahead of time -> my Q is what you would do with this MCAT score:

(PS, V, BS, Writing) : 12, 9, 12, R (1st attempt)

I'm an ON resident and plan on applying to some Ontario schools and probably outside of province to McGill.

Top targets: UT, McGill

Other considerations: Western, Queens

The above score seems to be enough for my top targets but most likely will be cut off by Western/Queens (although there may be a slight chance verbal may drop to a 9 with the expansion of spots this year??)...I've also read up on people getting interviews at Queens with a verbal of 9 but very high science scores (but I'm assuming 12s won't cut it...more along the lines of 13/14s+)

My plan is to take whatever remaining time I have left this summer to finish my apps/personal statement(s) and relax instead of studying for the MCAT again this summer.

If my application this year is not successful I'll consider redoing the MCAT next summer and applying broadly in Canada and the States.

Logical way to go or should I just go ahead and re-write this summer?

Hey guys,

Appreciate your responses ahead of time -> my Q is what you would do with this MCAT score:

(PS, V, BS, Writing) : 12, 9, 12, R (1st attempt)

I'm an ON resident and plan on applying to some Ontario schools and probably outside of province to McGill.

Top targets: UT, McGill

Other considerations: Western, Queens

The above score seems to be enough for my top targets but most likely will be cut off by Western/Queens (although there may be a slight chance verbal may drop to a 9 with the expansion of spots this year??)...I've also read up on people getting interviews at Queens with a verbal of 9 but very high science scores (but I'm assuming 12s won't cut it...more along the lines of 13/14s+)