Premed 101 Forums

Turned my ways around...but too late?

I was wondernig if anyone has any idea how my situation may work....did my playing around ways during my first 2 yrs ruin my chances for med school?

During my first year of university I did a full course load, and I had a GPA of 3.6

However because of personal reasons I had to drop to part time for my second year, where my GPA was 2.0 for Fall term, and in the winter term I failed....GPA was probably at 1.90

After my second year, I transferred to a new University, and new degree and started at year one again. I am currently in my fourth year with my cummulative GPA at 3.89. Each year my GPA has been over 3.8....I was wondering how my GPA would be calculated? Would my GPA include all the courses that I have taken throughout my Undergrad? Or just my four years at my current university? And previous GPA from my first two years from my previous university would not be used?

I know at McMaster they use all ur undergrad marks, but for some schools they use only Best 2? Or even Best 3 years...

Thanks...I just hope my playing around during the first couple years of my Uni. life didn't ruin my chance of Med. School. :confused: :confused: That when med schools see my past failure they won't even give me a chance at an interview. :( :(

I'm in the exact same boat--I had quit in the second year of my first attempt at an undergrad and didn't withdraw from my classes (8fs and 2 ds!!!!!!!!!!). You can imagine what that did to my GPA.

I'm currently transferred and finishing up my undergrad with an A average. My academic advisers assure me that my past will not be held against me--in fact, it can show a growth in maturity and discernment. A perseverance and persistence that you can pick yourself up, dust off, and try again!

It's nice to know I'm not the only one who bummed their first attempt at life. Lol.

• 3 weeks later...