Premed 101 Forums

Any hope?

Newbadoob

Hi everyone,

Several personal factors prevented me from attaining a decent GPA. I'm around 2.5ish CGPA 3.5 best two years, 40 MCAT. Im very new to researching about schools so I thought to post here in order to gain a sense of direction.

I have medical documentation regarding the obstacles during undergrad so I was wondering if there is any hope of a semi-decent school?

Well if you actually scored a 40 on the MCAT, you have a ridiculously good score, except what was your essay score? You're going to have a problem with your GPA though as 3.5 isn't good enough for pretty much any med school on Canada. However because of your good MCAT score I could definitely see you getting interviews if you had a GPA of around 3.7.

Hi everyone,

Several personal factors prevented me from attaining a decent GPA. I'm around 2.5ish CGPA 3.5 best two years, 40 MCAT. Im very new to researching about schools so I thought to post here in order to gain a sense of direction.

I have medical documentation regarding the obstacles during undergrad so I was wondering if there is any hope of a semi-decent school?

What province are you from? Have you already graduated? Were/are you a full-time student, and have you taken a full course load the whole way?

I agree with ryansn that 3.5 is still quite low for all canadian schools, and your documentation of personal obstacles during your undergrad can't really cancel out a 2.5. Also, only a few schools take your best 2 years. Most others will either look at your complete cGPA, or your most recent 2 to 3 years.

IMO, if you are serious about med school in Canada, do a second undergrad. Med admissions is very cookie-cutter. You need the specific requirements to get through the application process.