Premed 101 Forums

No research published and UK marks...?

Hi, so far I have only been reading this forum and I have found it extremely helpful, so thank you all!! There are two things however that I can't find here anywhere.

I got my masters in the UK, well all my education is from Europe, mostly UK, and I don't know how it works here, but there, not having published anything as a masters student is totally normal. Only lucky few in some good field get to publish stuff as students. My field is psychology and nobody even expected us to submit stuff to journals because its 'way out of our reach', even more so because we only have one piece of research to do during the whole time and that was for our dissertation... so when I look at UoT admissions of grad students and their emphasis on research, I don't stand a chance! So i guess my question is can i apply as an undergrad if i am about to hand in my dissertation for masters..? do i tick a box on the application or do they put me in the 'grad' or 'ugrad' pile themselves?:confused:

Similarly, our marks are 'officially' on the scale 0-100%, in reality, the lowest mark to get is 32 and highest is 80. I graduated with first class, and got a distinction coming for masters (so far), but that means above 70% average, which is very good and I was the only one in my undergrad and grad class to achieve it. BUT here 70%.. :( well you know! I know i need to get my grades translated by WES, but I keep wondering my gpa will be very low, because officially uk marking is on the scale to 100 not 80. Do any of you have any experience with UK marking and what does 70 translate to in canadian gpa?:o

Thank you!