Premed 101 Forums

April 20 and 21 interview weekend

Guest bluesky125

Guest xstatik

i heard of 8 graduate applicants receiving interviews for the april weekend. they were all from either the M.Sc. molecular genetics or immunology. good luck to them, and to all who haven't heard as yet.

Guest medwant2b

I got an invite for the April week-end and am also a grad. :) Perhaps, I'll see you there!

Good luck to those that still have to hear.

Guest medwant2B2

hey medwant2b,

i was just wandering whether you would mind revealing what you're grad degree is in, and what your marks were like to get the interview. I too am a grad student, but have not heard anything as yet. wishful thinking always!

thanks a lot in advance!

Guest maxell

I am a grad student, but was interviwed on March 23rd. No correlation exists between interview date and graduate degrees....

As for those who are waiting anxiously, it is generally true (as told to me by one of the interviewers) that not receiving any notice from the interview is a "good thing", as they reject most people very early on (in February) and keep the ones they find promising for later. I think they do not give early notice for an interview simply as a matter of policy - it would be difficult to invite an applicant 4 or 5 weeks earlier and deal with scheduling problems as well as for the applicant to remember his / her interview date! But this is purely speculation on my part.

Guest bananagirl

Maxell,

Thank you for your information....you've given those of us who are still waiting to hear a little bit of hope!

I was under the impression that the applications are sorted into batches and are reviewed as each interview date approaches. Thus, rejections would be spread out fairly evenly from Feb to May, instead of mostly occurring at the start of the interview process. Can anyone else verify what Maxell has written, or does anyone else have a comment regarding when most of the rejections occur?

Yours sincerely,