Premed 101 Forums

A long and winding road.

A long and winding road.

Hi everyone. I thought I would introduce myself (first post).

I am definitely a non traditional student. I am 38 years old, married with 4 children, and I work fulltime. I work as a divisional director for one of the big banks in Toronto and I manage insurance sales in over 20 countries. I am also studying part-time for my CMA accountant’s license. Now I know you are likely to ask if maybe I’m lost? Perhaps on the wrong forum? Why would I be studying to be an accountant when I am on a medical forum? Good question! I will start at the beginning and within a few paragraphs it should be clear why I’m at this juncture in my life.

Born and raised in South Africa, I was a terrible high school student with little direction in what I wanted to do after high school. Based on my “zero study” approach I actually should have flunked out but with some luck I managed to pass. See, there is a God! LOL. Naturally, the thought of going to University was a million miles out of mind. I was one of those kids who truly believed that I couldn’t do math, science or accounting. And we were poor – no money for ‘varsity.

Fast forward a few years with me in low paying dead end jobs… and the thought of getting a better education finally crossed my mind. So I enrolled for a BA degree through the University of South Africa (part-time) and continued working in my dead end job (fulltime). Got married and had kids.

Six years later, and after several incomplete courses and failed courses, I had my BA Degree (that was year 2000). While my cumulative GPA was in the toilet, my final year was “ok” and I enrolled into the Honours Degree year. Changed my mind midway through the year and enrolled for an MBA instead at a non-accredited university. My marks weren’t as bad as the BA Degree, but still wasn’t great either (under 3.0). That being said, after 3 years, I had the MBA. Got some promotions at work.