Premed 101 Forums

Opthalmology at UToronto and UBC

I'm currently a 1st year medical student at one of the mid sized medical schools in Ontario. Originally from out west. I've started looking at observorships at my school.

I'm interested in doing Opthalmology as it has been my passion since high school. I'm also interested in doing residency in a big city. Does UBC and UToronto take many applicants from outside their school? And what does one need to do help get an edge? I'm going to try to get some research done this and next summer, and maybe try to get it done in Toronto.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

I'm currently a 1st year medical student at one of the mid sized medical schools in Ontario. Originally from out west. I've started looking at observorships at my school.

I'm interested in doing Opthalmology as it has been my passion since high school. I'm also interested in doing residency in a big city. Does UBC and UToronto take many applicants from outside their school? And what does one need to do help get an edge? I'm going to try to get some research done this and next summer, and maybe try to get it done in Toronto.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

The first requirement is to be able to correctly spell Ophthalmology.

Sorry, couldn't resist! I don't have any advice, but good luck! :)

It sounds like you already know what you need to do to get an edge:

Start early. Research. Research. Research. Get something published. Present at conferences. Get strong letters from people who matter. Get to know residents at your school/school of choice. Be likable. etc. etc. etc.

Keep in mind that alot of ophtho programs put a cap on the number of electives you can do in ophtho (you'll have to check each program's requirements, but I've heard 8 weeks max for many).

Also, keep in mind that you might, just might, change your mind throughout the next 3 years.