Premed 101 Forums

Leaving a Thesis based Masters after first year

Hey Guys,

I am currently enrolled in an MSc program. I've always wanted to go into medicine but always enjoyed doing research (but never aspired to it being my full time job.) I told my supervisor about wanting to do medicine and he was supportive of the idea (his wife is an MD/PhD and collaborates with TONS of MDs). So when I started in September I wanted to try to get an interview to Ottawa because I had a pretty crappy MCAT and also my first year marks got dropped. This caused me to be pushed over the wGPA cutoff.

Anyways, I alerted my supervisor that I was doing this. While not thrilled about the prospect of me leaving he was still supportive. He even offered to write me a reference. So four months later and I am here with an interview to Ottawa.

So I am kind of confused...Ottawa seems not worried that I am in my first year of my masters (no word of it on there website and in the formal education details on OMSAS shows my expected graduation from my masters to be July 2011) or they wouldn't have given me an interview right? (if I would have applied to U of T they would have rejected me right away) And Ottawa never asked for a letter from my supervisor letting them know that he is aware of my application. Also, I've read people saying leaving your masters mid-way through can come off as unprofessional so I am a bit worried about this upcoming interview....What do you guys think?

Ocho

If it comes up in the interview I would explain that you had alerted your supervisor from the beginning and that he was supportive.

I would only consider it unprofessional if you either A) hadn't bothered telling him at all or B) dropped it as a bombshell with short notice. Since you made him aware from the start, and he even offered to write you a LOR, I don't see how it could be interpreted as unprofessional.

Best of luck to you!

i've dealt with my own problem similar to this before.