Premed 101 Forums

M.Sc. graduate, aspiring clinician-scientist: in need of insight, advice, suggestions

Hi all,

I'm a newbie but have been a long-time lurker on these wonderful forums. This is a great place for information and advice and of course mutual support from the many wonderful members on here!

So before I go into my sob story, I'd like to introduce myself as someone who was born and raised in Toronto, went to UofT for undergrad (experience-wise: very challenging and learned a lot from the challenges, GPA-wise: biggest mistake of my life) and then went on to do a thesis/research-based M.Sc. at Mac which was extremely enjoyable and has led me to where I am today (either for the good or the bad!). I also enjoy reading (am a mystery junkie), watching movies, and oh yeah, I hate sushi :P

Now that all that's out of the way, I applied to med school (only Mac and UofT) this cycle and was rejected at both places i.e. no interview. This was expected given my pathetic undergrad GPA (<< 3.4 without the UofT weighting formula being applied) and a not so stellar MCAT: 11/8/9/P (VR/PS/BS/WS). Although it was expected, the rejection still hurt, after having applied last year as well. I was obviously hoping that my graduate student status would help things out at UofT but I knew I was being naive as it seems that a stellar undergrad GPA is required regardless, even if you've cured cancer and AIDS.