Premed 101 Forums

Help!!!!

Hey guy's so I am in need of some serious help, I am in my second year at western science and I've come to the realization, that I have totally screwed up the first two years. My GPA for both years are less then 3.0. After I finished first year, I promised that I would wake up in 2nd year, but I am back in the same place. I really need help, I was considering transferring to york or guelph or even trent in hopes of raising my gpa. Any suggestions?

Switching schools may be a move in the right direction, but this may have n othing to do with the school situation per se and more to do with your work ethic, study methods (perhaps not being efficient in studying generally and specifically, not studying in the best manner consistent with your needs and ability to retain and recall information. And there is a skill in researching for a paper and writing it successfully. So, you need to analyse where the problem(s) lie and perhaps your university has the resources to help you with this.

And then there is the issue of what you are studying, whether you enjoy it and it has your interests.

Switching schools isn't going to magically give you a 4.0. If you are getting less than 3.0 then you really can't blame subjective marking or program difficulty.

Why do you think you did poorly in the classes? Did the tested material feel foreign to you? Or were you not able to recall details? What amount of time between lectures did you spend on the classes? I know everyone is different but in my case I need atleast a 1:1 ratio excluding time spent on assignments.

In my opinion each 'type' of class also requires a different approach. You just can't prepare your self the same way for a Physiology class vs a history essay writting class. Provide some details on what you found difficult and maybe we'll find a way to help you.