Premed 101 Forums

If people had a choice...

neuronix

where would you go?

Toronto or McGill?

One one hand I think Toronto is a bit better for english speakers, since no french is needed for patient interaction during clerkship.

On the other hand, Montreal is way better (living is cheaper, places to party, hotter people) and the medical school is theoretically higher ranked.

thoughts?

does anyone here have this choice this year? assuming they get in to both?

This is an opinion, not a fact.

I am not an expert. I did not attend Toronto. I am attending McGill. McGill is over rated. They have an excellent branding and PR departments. Maybe they should invest money in other things. Maybe Toronto also is.

But in my humbe opinion, Toronto is the way to go. According, not to McLeans, but to an international ranking based on the number of Field Medal winners, Nobel Prize, etc. Toronto beats McGill so bad. These are just numbers. Honestly. And there is the tuition fees, etc. Plus, McGill is raising the tuition fees in some departments and is also thinking of doing so in the medical program. I feel there is a tradition of success at UofT. McGill is also very well known. But I mean, the main focus and the main reason of that recent unjustified hype around McGill is the research quality.

To answer the question : For me, The University of Toronto without a single doubt.