Premed 101 Forums

Opinion needed for a Québécois applicant

Guest noncestvrai

Guest noncestvrai

Hello all,

I am a McGill physiology graduate (01) and soon to finish a graduate degree(M.Sc.), with respective GPAs of 3.5 and 4.0 and a borderline VR8 PS10 BS12 and WSQ.

I did some stuff on the side for extracurriculars.

AND my first language is french...do they take that into account for evaluating my file?

Thank you

Guest LoveMcGill

A very large number of my classmates are Québécois. Because of the French language issue, the "break" that all of the applicants get is that the MCAT essay score is not considered and that a poor VR score can be made up for by high scores in the other two sections (this applies to all applicants, regardless of residency or language status).

Having said that, as an in-province applicant who meets all the cut-offs, your chances of getting an interview are very good. Hope this helps. Good luck with your application.

Guest noncestvrai

Thank you, I hope to be considered, I don't know what I could do more for them, with my grad school...but it remains that my undergrad GPA is boderline...principally due to first year which was difficult, being a francophone, though I had significant improvement...from a 2.64 to a 3.98 in my last year, I don't know if they value that as well.

We'll see...

Guest medicator007

There is only one way to know any further... apply! (I know thats not the answer you want, but thats theway it goes)

Though as said earlier, as an In-Province applicant meeting the cutoffs you have a GREAT chance of getting an interview which already gives you a pretty darn good shot of getting in.

Good Luck,

Medicator

Guest noncestvrai

I will apply for sure, I did not waste my summer for nothing(MCAT) but I sincerely hope that either UdeM or McGill will accept me since I would really appreciate staying in Mtl...c'est toi ma ville!