Premed 101 Forums

Can someone please explain?!

I'm currently a graduate student in Physiology. I have a great graduate gpa (3.7+) but a horrible undergrad GPA (<3.0). My last two years of undergrad were stellar but unfortunately they could not balance out my first two immature years where I was completed unfocused and basically they have ruined my life...

Anyways, I know my only two shots are UofC (IP) and Queens (because of last two years). My question is this, what is the lowest best two years GPA you've heard of for Queens graduate students to get into the SOM.

I was reading one of the "interview/stats" pages and there was a grad student with a similar situation as me (he was in a PhD instead) and got an interview. is it just based on MCAT cutoff and being slightly below the best two years GPA?

Would taking two full time years of science coursework after I finish my masters allow me to count those years as GPA for say Queens or Western? I meet the UofC two year cutoff because of my high grad transcript but my overall is going to hurt me...a lot. Writing the MCAT in June. I've been scoring between 30-33 on it. I wrote it two years ago and did horribly in my composite but scored an S in the writing sample (which I didn't find that difficult)

oh and yes I am considering the Caribbean and Australia. My graduate GPA is big with Australia (UQ) and they do a three year weighted like UOttawa so that gives me a decent GPA as well. I get an interview at Sydney automatically (???) because of my MSc.

Caribbean is really my last resort (which I know it is quickly rising on the list of places I have to apply to).

I would appreciate the people who tell you "give up, go try something else, etc." to give me a break. I'm depressed enough about it as it is, I don't need someone kicking me when I'm down. Everytime I walk past a UofC student I know who got accepted, its like being stabbed :(

Constructive criticisms/advice please?