Premed 101 Forums

just beginning

Guest s

so, i am a junior at a college in the U.S.with a GPA of a 3.5 and MCAT of 30...do you think it's worth applying to Montreal for medical school? I have a lot of hospital experience and volunteering and go to a very decent college. I was a little worried when I saw that 3.9/31 was wait-listed, but my pre-med advisor seems to think that it's not impossible that i might get in. What do you think (honestly)? There's so much about McGill that seems ideal for me....

Guest kazoo

You certainly have a chance to be invited for an interview. McGill doesn't discriminate academically based on GPA or MCAT scores until after the interview stage. As long as you meet the minimum 3.5/30 cutoffs, your application will be considered for an interview invitation based solely on the strength of your autobiographical letter and references.

Go habs.

does anyone know the percentages/average scores of US students accepted to McGill? I know there are spots reserved for foreign students, but how many people generally apply, what are their scores, etc?

Guest kazoo

Some stats for u:

Mean GPA: 3.73

Mean MCAT: 31.17

(From year 2000, includes in-province, OOP, and international applicants. Source: McGill website)

Number of American applicants: 134

Number of Admission Offers to Americans: 39

(From 1999. Source: "Admission Requirements of Canadian Faculties of Medicine" Association of Canadian Medical Colleges)

Like I mentioned before, it's worthwhile to apply if you meet the minimum academic cutoffs of 3.5/30. You have the opportunity to be selected for an interview based solely on the strength of your letter/references. The vast majority of Americans interviewed at McGill are eventually offered admission, either initially or off the waiting list.

Guest RoMoCoco

Hi,