Premed 101 Forums

out-of-province application to McGill

Guest lf

Hi, does anyone know what kind of stats are competitive for out-of -province applicants to McGill? (Realistically, I mean competitive enough for interview and acceptance). I'm a grad student with GPA about 3.85 and MCAT total 34, is this good enough?

Guest MEDCOMPSCI

Is your 3.85 GPA your undergrad GPA? Assuming that is the case, then you may well have a shot at McGill. Your MCAT score is pretty decent and ditto for your GPA. I believe however that McGill admits 5 OOP (could be wrong though) and even admits mroe US students than OOP ones. So, it is very hard to know with such a small number of invites if your stats are good enough. You have pretty decent stats so I would give it a go, I am sure that some OOP with your numbers have been admitted in the past.

Guest Ian Wong

Just eyeballing your post, those look like pretty good numbers to me. Perhaps try calling up McGill, and asking them if they can share with you any statistical data on successful OOP applications in the past few years. I think MEDCOMPSCI is right in that they allocate some spots for international (read: American) students, but perhaps getting in as an OOP is still possible.

Ian

UBC, Med 3

Guest ricorod