Premed 101 Forums

Some advice needed on where to live...

This is a bit of a personal question, but I think it would certainly be better if I asked it since the knowledge base on this board is staggering. But, I've basically finished a 2nd undergrad and I'm looking for a place to chill out while I apply to Meds. I have a low cGPA (~3.0) but strong last 2 years (4.0).

I did a second degree hoping to rock it and then apply to Western / Queens. I worked my butt off and achieved the GPA cutoffs, but now I'm getting stopped by the MCAT cutoffs (i.e. verbal). It's frustrating as hell after putting 2 years of work + summers of pain but I'm trying my best to stay positive and push through it...

So... Just trying to decide (albeit very quickly) where my next step is. I had everything planned out to live in the East Coast to get IP residency there but now I'm thinking why not live in Alberta or Quebec?

So I'm really thinking about shooting for Dal. At least I would be on level playing field with everyone since they only look at past 2 years... Although both schools would only look at my second degree, somehow I feel a skeptical about that for McGill. However, Dal is obviously the only school in the East coast and from ~300 interviews, they accept 70 - 80. That's probably not the best odds. McGill accepts about the same number from around 130 interviewees I believe. So does anyone know how relatively hard it is to get into McGill or Dal for IP? Alberta is also an option with 2 schools, but I'm already at a disadvantage due to them looking at all years.

I think I'm gonna give this a few more years, then I'll start thinking about going to medical school overseas and slogging my way through the system to practice in Canada... Thanks guys!

p.s. I used to know of a pdf somewhere that had all the admission stats to each Canada province (ie. how many applied OOP / IP, how many accepted OOP / IP?) Does anyone know where I can get that?