Premed 101 Forums

MD/PhD?

shift6

I've wanted to go into the field of research since the longest time, and out of all the sciences, biology has always been the one that has interested me the most. As such, I enrolled in CEGEP (Québecois here) planning to pursue a Bachelor of Science in university.

I am now in my second year, and as the deadline for university applications approaches, more and more people have been telling me that, if bio research was really what I wanted to do in the future, I should apply for the MD/PhD program.

This has me worried, as I don't have many ECs or volunteering experiences, since I'd been focused on applying for a BSc. Would failing to enter premed screw me over when the time comes to apply for the MD/PhD? Or is there another way? And is the MD/PhD really the be-all end-all for biology research?

If you are in Cegep,isn't the best you can for now is apply for eh McGill edpre program and to apply for med at Laval, Sherby and Laval? And what is so wrong about that. I do not know if McGill will accept you into the MD/PhD prgram but you can find out easily. If you don't make it from Cegep, then get your Bachelor's and you can apply for the MD/PhD program say at McGill and MD at others, no?

Geting into med is a privilege and a gift and if you can do it from Cegep, it seems to me thhat is the way to go.

I have no intention in becoming a physician, so wouldn't applying to premed in all those French universities be pointless? Also, I value an English education much more than a French one and have no interest in pursuing higher education in French.

What I really want to be doing is research and would like to know what paths are available to me should I not get into premed.

Well, the path is :

- Bachelors (3-4 years)

- Master (2 years )

- PhD (3 or 4 or 5 or . . . years )

- Post-doc (3 or 4 or 5 years ) --> Time to go at another university if you're in the same since beginning !